It's been a while since I've posted to my site. I thought it'd be a good idea to check in. Currently I'm still learning the Scala language with Programming in Scala (2nd Edition), and now I'm also taking a free online class through Coursera taught by the creator of the language: Martin Odersky. Along with learning through the book and the course, I really like to see the application side of the language. So when learning a new language, I'll tend to create some apps that don't really do much.

The first one I started was a snake game written in Scala. I don't have the source shared anywhere as of now, but I might make it public sometime. However a compiled jar can be downloaded from removed (if you trust me) and invoked with the command java -jar <path to .jar file>. I didn't implement a game over, however collisions with yourself or the wall stops you from moving. I think there's a bug out there w/ your arrow keys not registering correctly in Windows. I developed this game in Linux, and didn't encounter this bug.

After doing some playing around with the snake game involving Scala swing, timers, graphics and a little game engine, I decided to tackle something different. That's when I started branching out and looking for work. An interesting hobby of mine (which is quite different from software development) is training hunting dogs. After training, a group of us will take some hounds to competitions. Here is the website for the type of hunt we compete in. So I had the idea that it'd be great to not only learn more Scala, but also try to fill a need. I decided to attempt creating a web application for the NKC ARHA Little Pack Division. 'This is currently in progress, and unlike the snake app, I'm putting this endeavor on removed. It's an app that runs on the Play! Framework (which I am currently also trying to learn) written in Scala. Currently, I've implemented the ability to log in and out, which seemed like a big step. It's not that secure atm, but it's a base to start with. Here are a couple screenshots:

removed

removed

As of now, there's a pretty nice database design behind it, and I like the direction we're going!